top of page
Search

What is a doula?

Updated: Mar 20, 2022

WHAT IS A DOULA?


The term ‘doula’ originates from the Greek meaning “woman’s servant.” It has evolved into now what we would define as someone that provides physical, emotional, and informational support to an individual during labour and birth.


Research has shown that those who have doulas are more likely to have:


- spontaneous vaginal births

- shorter labours

- less negative birth experiences

- a decrease in the use of pain medication



As your doula, I will not only be there during your pregnancy to assist with birth preparations (eg. gathering info about options and choices) but also to provide continuous one-on-one care during labour. This may look like relaxation and breathing techniques, verbal encouragement, different labouring positions, and information.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Doulas Don't Do

-I do not replace a primary care giver, nor does any of the information I provide you with. - I do not make decisions on your behalf. However, I will help you gain information to make informed decisio

Does a doula replace the role of the spouse/partner?

I do not replace the role of the spouse/partner; they have an important and integral role in the pregnancy and birth experience. While I have knowledge and experience about pregnancy and birth, they h

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page